What Are You Known For?

So there I was, one Sunday evening not long ago, sitting in a rather uncomfortable seat in the corner of a room when the person next to me asks what millennial position I hold.

Coincidently, I was, and still am, making my way through Sam Storms’ Kingdom Come: The Amillennial Alternative, though I entirely failed to make mention of this. Instead I opted to stammer and said, in effect, “No comment.”

It isn’t that I don’t have any, shall we say, leanings, I do. Neither am I disinterested in discussing eschatology, in fact I believe we should discuss eschatology a lot more (though certainly not with a major focus on what John meant by “a thousand years”).

He pressed me a little, not aggressively (he wasn’t one of those people, you know the kind I mean), so I admitted that this particular aspect of eschatology, unfortunately the focus of too much eschatological discussion, has many different interpretations and settling on one is difficult and requires study and reflection.

And then I said, “I don’t really like to argue…” At which point someone across the room immediately chimed in, “Of course you like to argue, you always argue!” I then proceeded to prove I don’t always argue by arguing that I don’t always argue… In case you’re wondering, yes, I did win that argument.

I’m not going to defend myself or my actions (though I would sorely like to! I’m kidding!), it would just cement my friend’s opinion of me.

My point is that we often do not see ourselves quite the same as our friends and family do. We don’t see ourselves aright. This is why we sorely need to be in community with others because we are blind to our blindness.

So let me ask you this question, “What are you known for?”

Are you, like me, (apparently!) argumentative? Or are you…

Image by Maja Lampe
Image by Maja Lampe

Lazy?

Selfish?

Cold-hearted?

Cowardly?

Insensitive?

Rash?

In denial?

“Well, of course not!” We tell ourselves.

We are wonderful, kind, loving, servant-hearted, courageous, winsome, gracious…

Please allow me to issue a challenge to you.

Instead of just asking yourself, ask a close friend. Someone who knows you well and won’t be afraid to tell you the truth, who will tell you what you’re really like.

The answer(s) may surprise you!

A caveat: if this person is entirely negative you’ve (probably) asked the wrong person! Conversely, the same applies if they are entirely positive.

The answer you receive should be a mix (not necessarily an equal mix) of positive and negative, encouraging and discouraging comments.

I do this occasionally and I have benefited tremendously. Obviously I’m still a work, very much, in progress but I have made progress!

According to the people I’ve asked anyway.

Allow me to conclude with a note of encouragement.

Change is a very slow process and not without effort but the power for change does not originate in us, it comes from “God who works in [us], both to will and to work for his good pleasure” (Philippians 2:13 ESV). As we seek to change, as we “work out [our] own salvation with fear and trembling” (Philippians 2:12 ESV), let’s remember that God has promised to give us the strength to repent of sin, trust Jesus and pursue holiness. With this in mind we can boldly and courageously strive together toward holiness for, “He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?” (Romans 8:32 ESV).

One thought on “What Are You Known For?

  1. I wrote this some years ago. Thought you would like it! Eddie

    Are you an ‘a’?

    Are you an ‘a’, a ‘post’, or ‘pre-mil’?
    Of such speculation I’ve had my fill
    Every Christian should certainly look for Christ’s coming
    In the heavenly race we should be running
    Waiting for Jesus’ return

    But ever since the Lord’s departure
    Some have just stood around waiting for the rapture
    Unaware of the danger of being like leaven
    And just standing gazing up into heaven
    Waiting for Jesus’ return

    Reading the papers for signs from God
    Instead of reading His holy word
    And seeking to redeem the time we have
    Giving to God the best of our lives
    Looking for Jesus’ return

    Sounding forth the gospel, reaching the lost
    Living for Jesus whatever the cost
    Not wondering when, in idle speculation
    But unto the world making the urgent declaration
    That God demands they must repent
    The time available is almost spent
    And Jesus is coming back soon

    Eddie Currie – 6/9/97

Leave a Reply

